Because 1 minute can screw up a career…

I cornered my boss today in the most geeky moment I have yet to have in the world of marketing.  I’m sure I have had more geeky moments, but those were probably in a social environment after a cocktail.  C’mon, mix social introvert and cocktails and I’m likely to either get inappropriately sassy or comment on the size of someone’s ass in front of college professors.  But I actually care about the repercussions of cornering my boss on her way out the door to express my interest in a promotion – holy awkward.  (I never did make friends with that girl who commented on her heritage and I followed with “oh, that’s where you get your booty from!”) 

After a year and a half on the job, I just wanted to make it known that I am open to the possibility of moving up.  See that?  I didn’t quite ask, I just said yoohoo!  I’m here!  Followed with I don’t want to not get a promotion because I didn’t ask.  And it’s true.  All of this while I “walked” my boss to the elevator.  Yeah, not the best timing, but I had to do it when the moment struck.  I’ve been so scared for a good 6 mths to say anything about moving up.  I’m such a girl.  Really, it is a girl thing.  I didn’t ask because I was scared of how it would be perceived and blah da dee over-analyze.  Well, I did it.  And even though I mumbled through oh yeah and I have been really enjoying everything and think I have really found my niche here and whatever other nervous things came forth, I did it. And that’s all that matters to me today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Leave a Reply

