Smitten my butt…

Boy and I have been together 6 yrs.  6 years, and no, I don’t worry about the fact we are not engaged because I am only 25 and have a long way to go before I start worrying about that.  Actually, I take that back.  I hope I never worry about not being married.  I can’t be bothered…

What does bother me are my friends who worry about that.  I’ve been smitten with love before.  I know what it’s like.  I probably have made big decisions influenced by boy early in our relationship, but I don’t think any of those big decisions took me off the path of doing what I want to do.  I still have my goals in life, and while some paths to achieving my goals have ended up longer than I would have liked, I still ended up where I wanted to be.  I currently have 3 friends that I care about, but I have to question if they are just smitten or if the choices they are making are really the direction they want their lives to go. 

I know life is easier when someone is on the same path as you holding your hand through it, but an entire life of making decisions having to consider how your loved one will react? Well, obviously I’m not a mother, but neither are these friends of mine.  That’s not the point, the point is when my friends’ lives stop and make a drastic 180 precedented by no change other than a new person in their lives, damn straight I’m going question it.  But actually I don’t.  I’m a weenie and I think it would hurt my friend(s) more to question their decision in matters of love more than it would hurt to just stay in the wings and see where this love is going to take them. 

And the other thing that bothers me is when I discuss this issue with other friends or family members, and I get deemed the person who doesn’t want to see someone else happy.  Oh, good lord, gimme a break.  Are you blind?  Do you not know what happened last time, prior to the divorce?  Same story sister, same story. 

So, me and boy may be pretty self-centered in our decisions, but at least we can rest assured that he’s doing what he wants to do and I’m doing what I want to do.  Even if it means that after 5 years I decided to move 20 miles away from him to make sure of just that.  And I am.  CooCookachoo.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Love

Leave a Reply

