on becoming a parent

Last night (or this morning) around 2 am Jack started going in circles around on the bed, grabbing all his toys and dragging them into the bed, hopping on and off the bed.  I can usually sleep through it, but if boy is over I wake up to the shuffles of him launching Jack off and Jack thinking he’s playing and lunging back and boy cursing and everyone gets irked.  This was the scene 2 am last night so I yanked Jack over to my side and did my calming wind-down time speech to get him to relax which seemed to be working until he sat up.  I was trying to get him to lie down when it happened – BLeCkACk ErG.  (yes, that was sound effect for vomitus.)  And the thing is, Jack didn’t even know it was coming.  Like little babies that vomit projectile straight out without a hint of it coming, Jack just sat there and spewed all over my arm as I was trying to comfort him.  And when a dog vomits, you know all he really wants is to eat it.  So I jumped up and held him back with vomit all over my arm and bounced over boy into the kitchen to get paper towels to clean up.  I cleaned it up best I could, laid paper towels over the sheets, then laid over them as I got Jack to sprawl across my belly so I could rub his belly because he was freaked out from having thrown up. And I fell asleep, in remnants of vomit that I found this morning as I ripped the sheets off my bed. 

And while the idea of sleeping in dog vomit is nasty, I didn’t think twice about it because all I could think of is “what did he eat?!  what did he eat?!”  I fell asleep thinking I would be working from home today to monitor him if he was at all lethargic (he wasn’t, he was up and ready to run a marathon at 6 am.)  And this topped off with the fact that boy and I have been getting in little tiffs in public on how to properly discipline Jack when he lunges for people (I’ve inherited my mother’s concern for how I look in public and get too shy to discipline him.  I’ve resorted to a pinch collar, despite suggestions of gentle leader and other methods, he’s come too close to nipping people so I need to get the point across quick.)  It has me questioning my capacity for being a good parent and whether or not I could ever be a parent with boy because most of the tiffs have me walking away mumbling “this is my goddamn dog and I ain’t ever having your baby, mister.” 

In the very least, delaying parenthood is not something I’m questioning anymore. (not that I really was before, but you know…)

3 Comments

Filed under Dog, Life

3 responses to “on becoming a parent

  1. I SO know about all of this. Bella has a very delicate constitution, and Jo has food allergies so I have had many a night of vomit episodes and sometimes (well more than sometimes) I just don’t clean up until the morning because I need to comfort dogs and go back to sleep. Actually the morning we had our little earthquake here Bella promptly stood up on the bed and yakked. Anyway, where this is all going is I can relate to how you feel because I also question the way I react and handle these things in the context of whether I want to parent human chlidren or not. Case in point Jo went through my front window Sunday night and had a few bad cuts requiring stitches and I was far more upset and rattled by it all than she was. And lastly on the prong collar, there are as many opponents as there are promoters. I had totally miserable walks with Bella for 2 years on a Gentle Leader harness (she’s ok with people but not other dogs – try controlling 90 pounds of an obstintate dog…not fun) and finally invested in a good prong collar (Herm Sprenger) and it’s night and day different on walks now. I had a friend go with me to get it who is an advocate and she had me put it around my neck and pull at which point I realized it’s not inhumane – it just pinches and is leaps and bounds more humane than a choke collar so long as it’s good and fits properly. And Bella has way more fur than I do!

  2. One more thing on the prong collar – Bella is an alpha female dog (obstinate, domineering and smart – G$$gle “alpha female great pyrenees” and you will see Bella’s photo…) so she is fine with it – it’s a good tool with her. Jojo is not (she is more submissive) so I don’t use it on her because it exacerbates her fearful responses. So it’s also about knowing your dog’s disposition and choosing the right tool.

  3. Welcome to my world.

    Vomiting, especially at 3 a.m., is one of Lombardi’s favorite hobbies.

    We actually talked to the vet about it, and we’re told that some dogs get very worried about where their next meal is coming from and can actually get so panicky that they puke.

    The dog weighs nearly 40 pounds, gets fed twice a day, and eats enough treats to feed a small nation, but I’m beginning to think there’s something to this theory since her episodes most frequently occur when she wakes up in the middle of the night and can’t fall back asleep. Without fail, after an hour or so of crawling all over us and huffing, it’s blaccchhh, blaccchhh, blaccchhh all over the floor.

Leave a Reply

