that 30 thing

A friend in P’cola is engaged.  It’s one of boy’s ex-girls.  His response?  Disappointed b/c it was one of the few people that held out in support of the ‘marriage is not necessary’ point of view that he holds.  I asked how old she is.  29.  I said that’s why. 

My other friend wants to cage dive with sharks before her 30th. 

Another friend had to get engaged by her 30th, so she was.  She married.  1 year later she left the guy. 

I really hope I don’t have a turning 30 issue.  Boy swears I will because much like lesbian experiences and body issues, it’s one of those things that comes with having a vagina.  For now, I’m shaking my head.  Nope, not me. 

Honestly, I don’t think I will be married by 30.  If I had to guess, it will be just like tonight.  Me and Jack, dinner with a friend, walk around the lake, sitting here, glasses, pimple cream all over face, retainer, nervous about class…  because as I grow older, I will continue to grow classier. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

