on being a Twi-tard – and betting you are one too.

I’m dating a book and movie SNOB. Which I don’t usually mind because it means I always have a library to choose from and a movie to watch because his collection is in a spreadsheet somewhere alphabetized, by author, then chronological order, probably color-coded according to genre and date purchased and net value in 10 years – that is if the laser disc is still around in 10 years. (once he tried to impress me by showing a movie on laser disc and then half way through the movie stopped and I could not believe he was serious when he said he had to FLIP THE FUCKING LASER DISC so I was all, is this something from the 1970s?) Anyway, what this also means is that I rarely go off on my own and watch junk movies or books because I’m too lazy to go and buy my own stuff. (But then there was that one time I was sick on pain killers and he came home with the Britney Spears movie from back when she was cute Crossroads and Lilo and Stitch and for some reason that was one of the best nights ever. Because he sat on the couch and watched those movies with me. To give you a time frame, that was back with I wore overalls. mmhmm.)

Now that I’m back in school and my BART commute is much shorter than it once was, I find I have less time to read books for fun, something aside from $150 biology textbooks. I keep trying to read. I’ve picked up Omnivore’s Dilemna, American Gods, Ghostwritten, Love in the Time of Cholera – yeah, I’ve been trying really hard. But I just don’t feel like committing to a book. And I’m a super slow reader, I didn’t exactly score high on reading comprehension on those standardized tests (but I did in math in science yet went on to be an English major – go figure.) So I have 1 month before I jump into both Chemistry and Physics lectures and labs this fall and I want to finish a frickin’ book. So, not listening to boy’s taunts about this series, I put down a Jasper Fforde book and went out and bought Twilight.

Boy has a sordid history with this title. He stirs up trouble over at Film School Rejects with the commenters and he’s coined the name “twi-tards” for them because twilighters are insane. And then there’s a whole audience of mothers who are equally obssessed with Twilight.  (He jokingly calls them Twi-MILFs.) And I think it’s important to be a fan about something. I’m a fan of geek boys on the sole basis that they’re fanboys. It’s cute. But twilighters grew out of being cute a while ago.  Check out this post and the trail of vicious comments it received.

But so far, I’m enjoying the book. It jumps right in, moves fast, I don’t need to think, brings me back to high school. For a slow reader like me who can get caught up in structure and doesn’t really know all those SAT words I should have learned way back when, it’s easy and filling the reading for fun void. And then, today, I found myself ranting to boy about how if they didn’t nail the casting of Edward then the movie doesn’t have a shot for me… Yes, I’m now a twi-tard.

1 Comment

Filed under books

One response to “on being a Twi-tard – and betting you are one too.

  1. Jen

    TOTALLY ADDICTED TO THE TWILIGHT SERIES! I’m halfway through the fourth book, and it’s SO good…

Leave a Reply

