to be a super hero…

During a recent hike I posed the question something along the lines of if you had one talent you already possess greatly exaggerated to be a superhero power, what would it be?

Boy’s would be agility.  On the tennis court.

N’s would be the smell of her pheromones.  Because she apparently emits a smell so strong boys go hump crazy around her.

Me?  What is mine you ask? 

Invisibility.  Because I’m a pretty good wall flower as is. 

I think I have a good idea who reads this blog, so I’m gonna ask all who read it to post your super hero power based on your current talents in the comments.  (please don’t make me look like a goombah that doesn’t have any readers and just post your power.)

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “to be a super hero…

  1. Okay, I’ll comment…

    Does reading count? I already read a lot and fast, but I want to be able to flip through books in 30 seconds like the robot girl on “Small Wonder” and remember everything in it after I finish.

  2. Ha, thank you!!
    Yes, reading totally counts. And that would be an awesome power indeed. Now you just need a name and logo and you’re all set to super power…

  3. A Robin Hood-type rescuer for doggies and kitties 🙂

    BTW I’ve been noodling a comment on the whole Jack and muzzle mess at the vet – have lots of thoughts on that one but have to get caught up and out of vacation mode first!

  4. How noble of you, Katie. I feel like invisibility pales to that. 😉

  5. Well I had to think of something for me that was realistic. I would LOVE to be invisible or be able to manipulate matter. But neither one really makes sense for me personally 🙂 I get myself in dumb situations all the time doing dog rescue. Plus think about all the noble things you could do if you were invisible – and all the fun things!

  6. Time travel. ‘Nuff said.

  7. Well, I’d like to think my phenomenal ability to ramble on for hours and hours without taking a breath would come in handy as a superhero.

    The husband says I could have a three-pronged attack depending on the strengths of each foe I faced:

    1. My chattiness could be used to stun my enemies and even put them to sleep.

    2. The sound of my voice could be transmitted as a high-pitched squeal causing permanent hearing loss.

    3. And, the speed of the sound waves radiating from my mouth could act as a sort of tsunami, or windstorm if you will, causing physical damage to all those who surround me.

  8. Ellen, I would have never guessed that but it suits you perfectly. You’d actually be able to apply all that very random pop culture knowledge.
    Kelly, I think you’re the closest to tapping into that super hero power. Can you use it at our next marketing check in? 🙂

  9. I write badly, but I am afraid that is all I can offer as my ‘talent’ (I do other stuff worse, so it has got to be writing.)

    As a superhero, I would write:
    – poems that move readers to tears and ecstasy and so make life meaningful for each of them

    – insightful essays that let people see the truth for themselves and grow therefore

    – scripts for movies that have the effect on people as in the above two

    To write like this will do:

    “To see a World in a Grain of Sand
    And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,
    Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
    And Eternity in an hour.”

    – William Blake

    ps. in all likelihood I will bore readers to tears and worse.

  10. I for one think the scripts for movies are very much needed. Especially since I look more toward movies than books for catharsis. And I hate being let down by a poorly written script. So please beef up that talent into a super hero power soon…

Leave a Reply

