My second favorite line from Grabriel Marquez

Yes, I’m still reading Love in the Time of Cholera.  Yes, I am a slow reader.  But reading this is similar to how I eat figs.  I usually take a bite out of the bottom to see the inside, then I shove it up in boy’s face and say “see!  see how pretty figs are?!  how can you not like them!”  And then I pick out the meat seed by seed with my front teeth enjoying every bit. 

This line is a close second for my favorite from this book.  (My first is back over here.)

I adore you because you made me a whore.

See!  See how awesome that line is!  I am putting that one in my pocket to use on the right guy at the right time and it will blow his mind away.  And then I will turn around, toss my hair back over my shoulder, and walk away knowing all the while he is looking at my ass and that it is an ass worthy of being looked at.  That’s the kind of empowerment this line gives me.

3 Comments

Filed under books

3 responses to “My second favorite line from Grabriel Marquez

  1. robiam

    You know darn well I like figs. Whore.

  2. DO NOT RUSH THIS BOOK. You can only read it for the first time once. Treasure it, savor it.

  3. Helene

    I love that line too – it has stuck in my head amongst all the other wonderful lines in that book, and I’m glad I’m not the only one who sees the power in it. BTW I’ve used it. The effect has been incredible.

Leave a Reply

