Blank Stare

I’m really good at the blank stare.  My pre-school class photo has me cocking my head to the side with my jaw slightly dropped doing the same blank stare I still do today.  Lately I’ve been walking around with this look plastered on my face.

Ever have a conversation with someone and no one was around to witness it, and then you walk away thinking am I crazy or was there something way fucked up that just went on there.  And then you try and recount it to someone else and it’s nearly impossible because the only thing you can say is “I have no idea what just happened.”

This happens every time I talk to one person.  And I’m starting to think I’m a little crazy.  Don’t get me wrong, this happens quite often with strangers.  Like how I talk to Jack while we’re walking and the person in front of me thinks I’m talking to him.  So I pass the person and say “oh no, just talking to my dog,” and I walk away with the scene from Dirty Dancing flashing through my mind where she says “I carried a watermelon…?”  But it’s not like I’m trying to have a worthwhile conversation with a stranger, so who cares.

But sometimes I want to have a worthwhile conversation with someone.  And this past time, it was like trying to slap a brick wall in an attempt to get it to say “ouch” and guess who’s the only one walking away saying ouch?

So here’s my little lesson from that experience.  Don’t walk up to a brick wall and think it will shake hands with you.  It won’t.  And then don’t try and beat it up.  It doesn’t care.  But if you walk around it, you might find a friend standing there on the other side.  And then you won’t have to look like an idiot staring blankly at a brick wall.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Blank Stare

  1. yeah, makes no sense at all 🙂

  2. I know what you mean – worthwhile conversations are rare. I was once at a dinner with seven persons of varying background, and what a rich evening round the table it would have been – but one person decided to hog the evening with inane bravado and another person decided to share the limelight exchanging insults with him, so the evening which promised so much meaningful conversations went down. What a waste of good wine which the host provided. Person to person conversations are even better. The trouble is in finding that person and the time. Still, I believe in serendipity.

Leave a Reply

